PrintThe Leander Educational Excellence Foundation (LEEF) hosted its fifth annual Student Teacher Academic Recognition, or STAR, banquet at Austin Baptist Church on Thursday, April 23. This year, 27 seniors from Leander ISD high schools recognized a teacher, coach or counselor that most influenced and inspired that student (full list below). LEEF is grateful to Cedar Park Regional Medical Center for being the title sponsor of this event since its inception.

“This event is one that really brings our community together, and highlights how much our LISD educators mean to the families and students they work with every day,” explained Dr. Gloria Gonzales-Dholakia, LEEF’s executive director. “The LEEF board of directors and I are truly proud to give these students the opportunity to honor educators that went above and beyond to support them achieve their academic or extracurricular goals. ”


I would like to thank you and the LEEF Board for what is for me, the highlight of my 25 year career as a professional educator.  It was absolutely wonderful to be able to hear our LISD students speak about their teachers from their hearts.  I will always remember that evening and thanks to your organization, I have a lovely plaque, which I will cherish.  I started my career wanting to positively impact the lives of my students, but in actuality it turns out that they have impacted mine in a far greater way! Please thank the LEEF Board Members. I am so grateful. – Maureen Selman, Rouse High School physics teacher

I would like to say thank you!  It was an awesome event.  Hearing the students tell stories of how teachers have impacted them, was amazing.  Having Alisa share those words with me about what I have meant to her was one of the best and most meaningful experiences I have had as an educator.  We do our job every day because we love it, and we love our students.  To hear them say how much they appreciate it was priceless.  The plaque I received last night will always have a special place in my office.  Thank you again. – Jonathan Lamb, Assistant Athletic Coordinator & AP World History, Leander High School


This event is provided free to students, teachers, and their families by the generous sponsorships of: A+ Federal Credit Union, AJ Zelinski, Arise Sports Medicine and Rehabilitation, American Constructors, Austin Oral Surgeons, Bartlett Cocke, Bridgepoint Dental, Brown, Graham & Company, P.C., Capitol Title, Cedar Park Regional Medical Center, Chirofit Wellness Center, Cunningham Allen, Dell, First Citizens Bank, Four Points Chamber of Commerce, Grace and Michael Jordan, Hill Country Apothecary, Lenovo, Little Smiles Pediatric Dental, O’Connell Robertson, Pfluger Architects, Photo Texas Photography, Randolph Brooks Federal Credit Union, South Texas Money Management, Texas Family Physicians, TMF Foundation, Walsh Anderson, and Wired Orthodontics


School Student Teacher
Cedar Park HS Erin Clevlen Dana Raitt
Cedar Park HS Monica Harkins Jim Tarvin
Cedar Park HS Rachel Pokorney Cami Jenschke
Cedar Park HS John Tolander Phillip Sozansky
Cedar Park HS Christina Walker Brent Grissom
New Hope Mallori Bordic Mona Parrish
New Hope Jasmine Prudhomme Mona Parrish
Leander HS Siandhara Bonnet Danielle Bell
Leander HS Nicholas Champion Linda Major
Leander HS Alisa Greene Jonathan Lamb
Leander HS Jacob Ostrander Chris Tarbet
Leander HS Sydney Platt Shawna Queen
Rouse HS Jacob Alger Cathy Smith
Rouse HS Katy Buchanan Hector Vega
Rouse HS Peter Jbeili Jamie Maples
Rouse HS Rachel Sanders Maureen Selman
Rouse HS Gabriel Trevino Marguerite Swilling
Vandegrift HS Ashton Banta Christopher Lindsay
Vandegrift HS Carolina Craus James Larremore
Vandegrift HS Vishal Gupta Jenny Sanders
Vandegrift HS Seena Ounsinegad Christopher Lindsay
Vandegrift HS Sydney Sabel Mike Meadows
Vista Ridge HS Kristine Chen Dana Jones
Vista Ridge HS Mallory Gabbard Todd Gonzales
Vista Ridge HS Kiara Myers Michelle Maupin
Vista Ridge HS John Nguyen Beth Duncan
Vista Ridge HS Zachary Richards Mathew Deram

Comments are closed.